Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation
Main Navigation


Ajax Loading Image


2019 SPIAA Big Read Merit Award Winners

In the fall of 2016, English Language Arts Teachers from across the South Plains Iroquois Activities Association (SPIAA) met at South Gray High School where the idea of hosting a SPIAA Big Read was developed.  Harper Lee's To Kill a Mockingbird was chosen as the common text for 2017.

Having successfully completed the first SPIAA Big Read, a new title was chosen for 2018-2019.  Students in SPIAA high schools were invited to read and participate in activities related to Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451.  The 2018-2019 SPIAA High School Big Read included a league-wide meeting hosted by Kiowa County High School that included discussion-based activities.

In an expansion of the original project, a Junior High/Middle School title was also selected.  SPIAA students in grades 6-8 were invited to read and participate in activities related to Suzanne Collins' The Hunger Games.  The SPIAA Junior High Big Read included a league-wide meeting hosted by Satanta, which included Hunger Games-inspired activities, a live-action Reaping provided by members of the Kiowa County High School Forensics team, and a viewing of the Catching Fire.

The project portion of the Big Read includes a display of top student work in the lobby of the United Wireless Arena in Dodge City during the SPIAA High School League Basketball Tournament.

High School honorees from across the league will be recognized between the girls and boys Championship games at the United Wireless Arena on Saturday, January 26.  The Junior High honorees will be recognized between the girls and boys Championship games at their respective SPIAA Divisional Tournament sites on Thursday, February 7.



Performance Category, Group & Individual Divisions Combined

  • Rylee Ott

Art Category, Individual Division

  • Judy Redecop


Audio Visual Category

  • Nathaniel Enfield

Photography Category

  • Sarah Hubert
  • Kathryn Spainhour

Creative Writing Category, Short Story Division

  • Ashton Reh

Two-Dimensional Art Category

  • Allison Kirby

Three-Dimensional Art Category

  • Luke Ballard
  • Ellery McMurry
  • Madison Yost